Florida Workers' Compensation
Have your questions answered. See statewide list of cities near you. Receive CEUs. Get updates on safety consultation services.
Do your subs carry workers' comp insurance?
Search by employer name to see if contractors and subs carry WC insurance.
Safety Plans Required
Florida statutes require a written safety plan; provide for drug-free and safety plan discounts.
What You Should Know About Workers' Comp in Florida Today (octet-stream 468.00 kB)
A presentation by Andrew Sabolic, Bureau Chief, Compliance, Div. of WC
Workers' Compensation Information for Florida's Employers
Know your workers' comp responsibilities.
Workers' Compensation Information for Florida's Workers
Must-reading for Florida employers
Florida Division of Workers' Compensation
Complete set of resources for small business workers' comp questions
Florida Workers' Comp News Update
A service of www.workcompcentral.com
Proper procedure a Florida employer must follow if there is a fatality or hospitalization in the workplace.
As soon as you become aware of a workplace accident resulting in injury or death, immediately contact your workers’ compensation insurance carrier. If you do not report the accident to your insurance carrier within seven days, you may be subject to an administrative fine not to exceed $2,000 per occurrence. Most insurance companies have a toll-free number to report workplace injuries. You can also fill out the First Report of Injury or Illness form and send it to the insurance carrier. The First Report contains employer, employee, and accident information. Employers must also report deaths resulting from workplace accidents to the Division of Workers’ Compensation within 24 hours. To report a workplace fatality, call 1-800-219-8953 (in Florida) or 850-413-1611, or fax the First Report containing the fatality information to 850-922-0024. To access the First Report, go to http://www.fldfs.com/WC/forms.html and click on DWC-1.
In addition, here are OSHA's fatality and hospitalization requirementsfor all employers nationwide.
Basic requirement. Within eight (8) hours after the death of any employee from a work-related incident or the in-patient hospitalization of three or more employees as a result of a work-related incident, you must orally report the fatality/multiple hospitalization by telephone or in person to the Area Office of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), U.S. Department of Labor, that is nearest to the site of the incident. You may also use the OSHA toll-free central telephone number, 1-800-321-OSHA (1-800-321-6742).